Canadian International Development Board. The Board is the governing council responsible for directing the operations of the Canadian International Development Agency (CIDA). It is made up of the Under Secretary of State for External Affairs, the Deputy Ministers of the Department of Finance and the Department of Industry, Trade and Commerce, the Governor of the Bank of Canada and the Secretary of the Treasury. It meets under the chairmanship of CIDA's President.

Canadian Livestock Feed Board. This Board is a Crown corporation reporting to Parliament through the Minister of Agriculture. Established under the Livestock Feed Assistance Act in 1967, its objectives are to ensure: (a) the availability of feed grain in eastern Canada and British Columbia, (b) the availability of adequate storage space in eastern Canada, and (c) the reasonable stability and fair equalization of feed grain prices in eastern Canada and in British Columbia. The Board administers the Feed Freight Equalization Program under which a portion of the costs of transportation of feed grains is paid. The Act also stipulates that it is the duty of the Board to make a continuing study of feed grain requirements and availability in these areas, as well as to study and make recommendations to the Minister with respect to requirements for additional feed grain storage facilities in eastern Canada. It is also the duty of the Board to advise the government on all matters pertaining to the stabilization and fair equalization of feed grain prices to livestock feeders and, to the greatest extent possible consistent with its objectives, to consult and co-operate with all departments, branches or other agencies of the Government of Canada or any province having duties, aims or objects related to those of the Board.

In pursuit of its objectives, the Board may also buy, transport, store and sell feed grains in eastern Canada and British Columbia when authorized to do so by the Governor in Council. The Board is composed of four active members with headquarters in Montreal and branch offices in Ottawa and Vancouver. A seven-member Advisory Committee, appointed by the Governor in Council, and representing livestock feeders in eastern Canada and British Columbia, meets periodically with the Board to review and discuss all aspects of feed grain supplies and prices, and policies related thereto. This Committee may make recommendations to the Minister and the Board.

Canadian National Railways. The Canadian National Railway Company was incorporated to operate and manage a national system of railways, including the Canadian Northern Railway System, the Canadian Government Railways and all lines entrusted to it by Order in Council. Its operations are now governed by RSC 1970, c.C-10. In 1923 the Grand Trunk Railway Company of Canada was amalgamated with the Canadian National Railway Company and since 1923 a number of railway lines acquired by the government have been entrusted to the Company for operation and management, including the Newfoundland Railway and steamship services in 1949, the Témiscouata Railway in 1950, and the Hudson Bay Railway and the Northwest Communication System in 1958. The Canadian National Railways Act, 1919 was repealed in 1955 and the Canadian National Railways Act (SC 1955, c.29) substituted therefor. The Canadian National Railway Company is controlled by a chairman and board of directors appointed by the Governor in Council, who report to Parliament through the Minister of Transport.

Canadian Overseas Telecommunication Corporation (COTC). Created in 1950 by Act of Parliament (RSC 1970, c.C-11), this Crown corporation operates all overseas communications to and from Canada — whether by radio, undersea cable or international satellite. By means of international gateway switching-centres in Montreal, Toronto and Vancouver, COTC provides public telephone service to over 200 overseas territories. The Corporation also provides public message telegraph service, Telex and private wire service to many overseas points. COTC is the designated operating entity for Canadian participation in Intelsat and represents Canada on the Commonwealth Telecommunications Council. It reports to Parliament through the Minister of Communications.

Canadian Patents and Development Limited (CPDL). This Crown corporation was set up in 1947 under an amendment to the National Research Council Act passed in 1946. The purpose of the company, which is a subsidiary of the National Research Council, is to patent and license new products and processes that come out of NRC research, research of other government departments and agencies, and research of Canadian universities. Proposals for patents are assessed with regard to originality, existence of similar patented products or processes, commercial appeal, humanitarian or scientific value, and cost of developing, promoting and marketing. CPDL initiates and finances the development of many inventions to a stage where it is economically possible for private industry to carry them through to production and sale, thus bridging the gap between research and industry. Profits from inventions are used to sponsor less profitable but often more beneficial inventions, such as highly specialized surgical or scientific instruments. The company, whose head office is located in Ottawa, reports to Parliament through a designated Minister, at present the President of the Treasury Board.

Canadian Penitentiary Service. The Penitentiary Service operates under the Penitentiary Act (RSC 1970, c.P-6) and is under the jurisdiction of the Solicitor General of Canada. It is responsible for all federal penitentiaries and for the care and training of persons sentenced or committed to those institutions. The Commissioner of Penitentiaries, under the direction of the Solicitor General, has control and management of the Service and all matters connected therewith.